Qualifications & the National Framework

About eDistance Learning

Qualifications & The National Framework

eDistance Learning works closely with various Awarding Organisations who accredit our courses. Each awarding organisation specialises in a particular sector allowing you to gain the best possible certification for your course.

We also offer varied types of courses including IGCSE’s, A Level’s, QCF courses and Diplomas so you should be able to find the best type of course that suits your needs.

If you need assistance in choosing the best course for yourself then please don’t hesitate to contact our customer advisors who would be more than happy to help you with your search.


NCFE is a UK awarding organisation. Each year, 340,000 students take their qualifications across 2540 colleges and schools. NCFE is a registered charity, with a 150 year old heritage, and are regulated independently by UK government body OFQUAL.


EDEXCEL qualifications are academic qualifications from Pearson. They cover GCSEs and A Levels, as well as some NVQs. Pearson are regulated by OFQUAL.


AQA are an independent education charity and the largest provider of academic qualifications taught in schools and colleges; around half of all exams sat in the UK are AQA. They have approximately 1000 employees and a wider network of 35,000 teachers and lecturers who set and mark their exams. They are regulated by OFQUAL.


OCR is a not-for-profit awarding body that specialises in helping learners reach their aspirations. They provide a full range of academic and vocational qualifications and are part of the Cambridge Group, which is Europe’s largest assessment agency and operates in over 150 countries. They are regulated by OFQUAL.

ABC Awards

With over 600 OFQUAL-regulated qualifications covering 12 industry sectors, ABC Awards have developed a variety of qualifications, with the support of relevant stakeholders and industry leaders, to ensure they meet the needs and rigorous standards of industries across the UK.


Cache are the leading specialist Awarding Organisation for the Care and Education Sector. Cache develops high quality vocational qualifications. These qualifications are used by over 1000 Colleges and Training Providers in the UK and abroad.


Ascentis is a Qualifications & Curriculum Authority (QCA)-approved national awarding body that designs user-friendly qualifications and supports these with the highest possible standard of customer service. Unusually, it is also a Quality Assurance Agency (QAA)-licensed Authorised Validating Agency for Access to Higher Education.


Training Qualification UK are one of the newest, most dynamic awarding organisations in the industry, seeking to bring a fresh approach and excellent service to training providers, colleges and learners. TQUK qualifications are designed by leading professionals and delivered to centres and learners with integrity and compliance in mind. TQUK have rigorous quality assurance controls and procedures in place and are committed to maintaining the highest standards of customer service, qualification delivery and assessment.

Industry Qualifications

Industry Qualifications (IQ) is approved by the UK’s national regulator of qualifications Ofqual and by the Scottish regulator SQA Accreditation. It was launched in 2011 to provide users and learners with the objective of achieving the highest levels of assessment integrity, customer service and sector engagement. Uniquely, it is a membership based awarding organisation bringing together the best of UK vocational education in a not for profit environment.

What is the Qualification and Credit Framework (QCF)?

The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) is a new credit transfer system which has replaced the National Qualification Framework (NQF). It recognises qualifications and units by awarding credits. And since each unit has a credit value and the credits can be transferred, the system gives the learners the ability to get qualifications at their own pace. The QCF is jointly regulated by the England’s regulator Ofqual, Wales’ DCELLS and Northern Ireland’s CCEA.

How Does the QCF System Work?

The QCF system is based on units which have credit value and levels (from Entry Level to Level 8). One credit roughly equals 10 learning hours which allows the learners to evaluate how much time they will need to gain the desired qualification. According to the QCF system, the learners can gain three types of qualifications:

  • awards
  • certificates
  • diplomas